Cafe Roubaix

Despre ciclismul de azi şi cel de altădată

Milano-Sanremo Stats

Historical stats

– “La Primavera” was first raced in 1907, when Lucien Petit-Breton took the victory

– The only time the race has not been held was due to war, in 1916, 1944 and 1945

– The inaugural edition had 33 riders at the start, only 14 of them completing the event

– Eddy Merckx holds the record for the most wins, seven, between 1966 and 1976

– The team with the most victories in the race is Bianchi – 17; first came in 1907, last one in 1974

– Italy leads the nations standings with 50 successes over the years, the last of which came in 2006

– Six-time winner of Milano-Sanremo, Costante Girardengo has the most podiums, 11

– Italian cyclists have taken the first three positions 34 times

– Longest winless streak of the home riders was between 1954 and 1970

– Youngest winner is Ugo Agostoni, 20 years and 252 days (1914); oldest one is Andrei Tchmil, 36 years and 57 days (1999)

– Wladimiro Panizza has the most starts in “La Primavera”, 18

– Four riders have won Milano-Sanremo while wearing the rainbow jersey: Alfredo Binda (1931), Eddy Merckx (1972, 1975), Felice Gimondi (1974) and Giuseppe Saronni (1983)

– The only winners from outside of Europe are Australia’s Matthew Goss and Simon Gerrans

– Sean Kelly is the last Grand Tour champion victorious in Milano-Sanremo (1992)

– Throughout history, the maximum distance of the race has never exceeded 298 kilometers

– The last year to witness a winner from a day-long breakaway was 1982, when Marc Gomez was part of a 20-man escape

– Gino Bartali holds the record for the longest time span between the first and last victory: 11 years

– Poggio was introduced on the course in 1960, when Gastone Nencini was the first rider at the top of the climb, while Cipressa featured for the first time in 1982

– Highest average speed was recorded in 1990: 45,806 km/h

– In 1909, the first bike change was allowed by the organisers

– 1954 is the year in which the race was shown live on television for the first time

– Biggest gap between first and second came in 1910, when Eugene Christophe got to the line 61 minutes ahead of Giovanni Cocchi

– Milano-Sanremo is the only Monument which hasn’t been won three years in a row by the same rider

2018 stats

– 25 teams (18 World Tour and 7 Pro Continental) will be at the start of the 108th edition

– Of these, Gazprom-RusVelo, Israel Cycling Academy, Nippo-Vini Fantini and Novo Nordisk are winless in 2018

– 31 nations will have at least one cyclist in the peloton, with Italy providing the most riders, 46

– Youngest rider in the race is Stepan Kurianov (21 years), while oldest one is Svein Tuft (40 years)

– Five former winners will line-up at the start: Mark Cavendish, Arnaud Démare, Alexander Kristoff, Michal Kwiatkowski and Filippo Pozzato

– Sam Brand, Giovanni Carboni, Nicolay Cherkasov, Damiano Cima, Evgeny Kobernyak, Stepan Kurianov, Jacopo Mosca, Marco Tizza and Aleksandr Vlasov are the nine neo-pros to make their debut in a Monument at “La Primavera”

– Of the riders at the start, Filippo Pozzato has the most participations: 15, including the one of this year

– Same Pozzato is the active rider with the most Monument starts: 48

– 4382 days have passed since the last triumph of the host nation

– The riders in Milano-Sanremo have won a combined total of 14 Monuments, 5 World Titles, 5 Grand Tours and more than 180 Grand Tour stages

Single Post Navigation

Lasă un răspuns

Completează mai jos detaliile cerute sau dă clic pe un icon pentru a te autentifica:


Comentezi folosind contul tău Dezautentificare /  Schimbă )

Poză Twitter

Comentezi folosind contul tău Twitter. Dezautentificare /  Schimbă )

Fotografie Facebook

Comentezi folosind contul tău Facebook. Dezautentificare /  Schimbă )

Conectare la %s

%d blogeri au apreciat: