Cafe Roubaix

Despre ciclismul de azi şi cel de altădată

Archive for the month “aprilie, 2017”

2017 Giro d’Italia Roadbook

2017 Giro d’Italia Roadbook

Liège–Bastogne–Liège Stats

Historical stats

– The first edition took place in 1892 and was won by Leon Houa

– Eddy Merckx holds the record for the most victories: 5, between 1969 and 1975

– The same Merckx has the most podiums: 7

– Belgium leads the nations standings, with 59 wins, followed by Italy (12) and Switzerland (10)

– Seven riders have won both Flèche Wallonne and Liège–Bastogne–Liège in the same season: Moreno Argentin, Philippe Gilbert Ferdi Kubler, Eddy Merckx, Stan Ockers, Davide Rebellin and Alejandro Valverde

– No U23 winner went on to take the victory as a pro

– Four cyclists from outside of Europe nabbed the win: Simon Gerrans (Australia), Tyler Hamilton (U.S.A.), Maxim Iglinskiy (Kazahstan) and Alexandre Vinokourov (Kazahstan)

– Since Bernard Hinault (1980), no other reigning Tour de France champion has won the Belgian Monument

–Moreno Argentin, in 1987, was the last rainbow jersey wearer to finish first

– Biggest winning margin was recorded in 1893, when Leon Houa came home half an hour ahead of his fellow countryman, Michel Borisowski

– The inaugural edition had 33 riders at the start, with only 17 of them getting to the finish

– Besides Belgium, only Italy got to place three cyclists on the podium, at the 2005 edition of Liège–Bastogne–Liège

– The race has been affected by snow in 1919, 1957, 1980 and 2016

– Until 1973, ten editions have finished on the Stade Vélodrome de Rocourt, a 40 000-seat arena

– Since 1992, the race ends in Ans, a suburb of Liège

– Longest dry spell without a Belgian victory was between 2000 and 2011

– In 1957, the win was awarded to two riders: Germain Derycke and Frans Schoubben

– Youngest ever winner is Victor Fastre (18 years and 362 days); oldest one is Alexandr Vinokourov (36 years and 221 days)

– Davide Rebellin is the rider with the most editions completed, 14

2017 stats

– 25 teams (18 World Tour and 7 Pro Continental) will line-up for the 103nd edition

– Three of these teams are winless this season: Aqua Blue Sport, Roompot and Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise

– The course is 258-km long and includes ten categorized climbs

– Three former winners are at the start of the race: Simon Gerrans, Daniel Martin and Alejandro Valverde

– The cyclists who will ride the 2017 edition have won a combined total of 9 Monuments, 2 world titles and more than 70 Grand Tour stages

– Of the riders who are at the start, Samuel Sanchez and Bram Tankink have the most participations: 13

– France is the country with the most riders in the race, 34

– Ben O’Connor (21 years) is the youngest rider who will line-up in Liège, while Angel Vicioso is the oldest one (40 years)

– Liège–Bastogne–Liège marks 2181 days since the last win of the hosts in the event

– Three winners of the U23 race will ride the 103nd edition: Grega Bole, Guillaume Martin and Tosh Van der Sande

– 16 neo-pros will make their debut in a Monument at “La Doyenne”: Martijn Budding, Kevin Deltombe, Thomas Deruette, Fabien Doubey, Lennard Hofstede, Enric Mas, Jeroen Meijers, Remy Mertz, Xandro Meurisse, Ben O’Connor, Dan Pearson, Dimitri Peyskens, Oscar Riesebeek, Ludovic Robeet, Nikita Stalnov and Antoine Warnier

Paris-Roubaix Stats

Historical stats

– The first edition took place in 1896 and was won by Germany’s Josef Fischer

– Paris-Roubaix was the first Classic to be shown live on TV, in 1960

– Two Belgians – Tom Boonen and Roger De Vlaeminck – share the record for the most wins, 4

– Roger De Vlaeminck is also the rider with the most podium finishes, 9

– Belgium leads the nation standings, with 55 triumphs in 114 editions

– Frédéric Guesdon holds the record for the most starts, 17

– Raymond Impanis and Servais Knaven have the most races completed, 16 each

– Ten riders have won the Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix in the same year: Tom Boonen, Fabian Cancellara, Fred De Bruyne, Roger De Vlaeminck, Romain Gijssels, Raymond Impanis, Gaston Rebry, Heiri Suter, Rik Van Looy and Peter Van Petegem

– The longest edition has never exceeded 280 kilometers, while the shortest one had 244 kilometers

– Marc Madiot is the only cyclist who has won Paris-Roubaix in the U23 ranks and subsequently as a pro

– In 1949, the victory was awarded to two riders: Serse Coppi and André Mahé

– Australia’s Stuart O’Grady and Mathew Hayman are the only cyclists from outside of Europe who nabbed the win in Paris-Roubaix

– The longest successful breakaway was recorded in 1988, when Dirk Demol won after being for 222 kilometers at the front

– Last rainbow jersey wearer to emerge victorious was Bernard Hinault, in 1981

– Four riders have won Paris-Roubaix after taking the victory in the Tour de France: Louison Bobet, Fausto Coppi, Felice Gimondi and Eddy Merckx

– In 1936 – when Georges Speicher was victorious – the race ended on a hippodrome

– Between 1986 and 1988, Paris-Roubaix finished in the town, because the velodrome was undergoing some repairs

– First year in which riders were allowed to get a spare wheel from their teammates was 1965

– Youngest ever winner is Albert Champion (20 years and 362 days in 1899); oldest one is Gilbert Duclos-Lasalle (38 years and 229 days in 1993)

– Last French success was brought by Frédéric Guesdon, in 1997

– In 1990, Eddy Planckaert and Steve Bauer sprinted for the victory and the Belgian won for just 1 cm

– Biggest winning margin dates from 1898, when Maurice Garin finished 28 minutes ahead of Auguste Stephan

– 1968 was the first year in which the start was given from Compiègne

– First time when the champion received a cobblestone-shaped trophy was in 1977

– Highest average speed – 45,130 km/h – was recorded in 1964, while the lowest one was in 1922 – 22,857 km/h

2017 stats

– 25 teams (18 World Tour and 7 Pro Continental) will line-up in Compiègne for the 115th edition

– Three of these teams are winless this season: Astana, Roompot and Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise

– The course is 257-km long and features 57 kilometers of cobblestones across 29 cobbled sectors

– 38 countries will be represented in the peloton, with Belgium topping the list (38 riders)

– Four former champions are at the start of this year’s race: Tom Boonen, John Degenkolb, Mathew Hayman and Niki Terpstra

– Three U23 winners (Koen De Kort, Ramon Sinkeldam, Mike Teunissen) and four Junior winners (Florian Senechal, Jasper Stuyven, Guillaume Van Keirsbulck, Mads Würtz Schmidt) will be in the race

– Mads Pedersen (21 years) is the youngest rider at the start line, while Mathew Hayman (38 years) is the oldest one

– Same Mathew Hayman also has the most participation of the riders in the race: 15

– Paris-Roubaix 2017 marks 7301 days since the last home win in the race

– Seven neo-pros will make their debut in a Monument at Paris-Roubaix: Piet Allegaert, Jenthe Biermans, Ryan Gibbons, Riccardo Minali, David Per, Elmar Reinders and Mads Würtz Schmidt

– The Paris-Roubaix peloton has won a combined total of 15 Monuments, 2 world titles and nearly 100 Grand Tour stages

Navigare în articole