Cafe Roubaix

Despre ciclismul de azi şi cel de altădată

Archive for the month “septembrie, 2016”

2016 Il Lombardia Stats

Historical stats

– Il Lombardia was created in 1905, with the first edition being won by Giovanni Gerbi after more than 9 hours and 230 kilometers in the saddle

– Fausto Coppi is the rider with the most victories, five, between 1947 and 1954

– When it comes to the number of podiums, Gino Bartali is first, having finished nine times in the top three

– 11 countries have had a champion so far, with Italy topping the nations standings (68 victories)

– No rider from outside of Europe has ever won the race

– Longest dry spell of the hosts was recorded between 1988 and 1994

– Paolo Bettini is the last world title holder to win the race (2006)

– Shortest edition took place in 1942 (184 kilometers), while the editions held between 1964-1975 and in 1978 were the longest ones, 266 kilometers

– Milan, Como, Monza, Varese, Cantu, Bergamo, Mendrisio and Lecco are the cities who got to host the start or the finish of the race

– Biggest ever winning margin was recorded in 1905, when Giovanni Gerbi and Giovanni Rossignoli were separated by 40 minutes and 11 seconds

– Giovanni Gerbi is also the youngest winner (20 years and 176 days), while Gaetano Belloni is the oldest one (36 years and 69 days in 1928)

– The oldest podium finisher is Franco Bitossi (37 years and 37 days) in 1977

– Four winners of the Piccolo Giro di Lombardia went on to take the victory in the pro race: Gaetano Belloni, Diego Ronchini, Sean Kelly and Moreno Argentin

2016 stats

– 25 teams (18 World Tour and 7 Pro Continental) will be at the start of this year’s race

– Of these, Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec, Bardiani, Cannondale, CCC Sprandi Polkowice, Nippo-Vini Fantini and Wilier-Southeast are winless in 2016

– The course between Como and Bergamo is 240 kilometers long and has more than 4400 meters of elevation

– Damiano Cunego, Philippe Gilbert, Daniel Martin and Oliver Zaugg are the former winners lining-up for the 110th edition

– Jan Polanc and Davide Villella are the two Piccolo Giro di Lombardia champions to race on Saturday

– Davide Rebellin is the active rider with the most participations, 16 including this one

– Ten neo-pros will be making their debut in a Monument: Felix Grosschartner, Yuma Koisi, Jérémy Maison, Matvey Mamykin, Anthony Perez, Simone Petilli, Robert Power, Cristian Rodriguez, Simone Velasco and Aydar Zakarin

– 34 countries will be represented in the peloton, with Italy topping the list (44 riders)

– 20-year-old Daniel Martinez is the youngest rider at the start; Davide Rebellin (45 years) is the oldest one

– The Il Lombardia peloton have won a combined total of 17 Monuments, 3 Grand Tours, 2 World Titles and nearly 120 Grand Tour stages

Navigare în articole