Cafe Roubaix

Despre ciclismul de azi şi cel de altădată

Archive for the month “mai, 2017”

Giro d’Italia Stats

Historical stats

– The race was created in 1909 and the inaugural edition was won by Luigi Ganna

– In 1912 there was no individual classification, but a team classification, won by Atala

– Alfredo Binda, Fausto Coppi and Eddy Merckx share the record for the most GC wins, five each

– Italy leads the nation standings, with 69 triumphs, way ahead of Belgium, which has only seven

– Felice Gimondi holds the record for most podium finishes: 9

– Longest edition took place in 1962 (4180 kilometers), while the shortest was the inaugural one (2445 kilometers)

– The race has had 12 foreign starts until now: San Marino (1965), Monaco (1966), Belgium (1973), Vatican (1974), Greece (1996), France (1998), Netherlands (2002), Belgium (2006), Netherlands (2010), Denmark (2012), Northern Ireland (2014) and Netherlands (2016)

– Fausto Coppi is the youngest ever winner: 20 years and 268 days (1940); the oldest winner is Fiorenzo Magni: 34 years and 180 days (1955)

– Olimpio Bizzi (19 years and 299 days in 1936) is the youngest stage winner, while Giovanni Rossignoli (37 years and 186 days in 1920) is the oldest one

– In 1932, Giovanni Gerbi – 47 at that time – became the oldest ever rider to compete in the event

– Wladimiro Panizza has the most Giro d’Italia starts (18) and finishes (16)

– Between 1909 and 1913, the scoring format used a points-based system, which was subsequently changed to a time-based system

– Only three cyclists from outside of Europe have won the race: Andrew Hampsten (U.S.A.), Ryder Hesjedal (Canada) and Nairo Quintana (Colombia)

– The pink jersey is awarded to the race leader since 1931 and the first rider to wear it was Learco Guerra

– Eddy Merckx has the most days in the maglia rosa, 79

– Andrea Noe is the oldest ever cyclist to don the pink jersey: 38 years in 2007

– As of 2016, 259 riders from 24 countries wore the pink jersey

– 33 countries have won at least a stage at the Corsa Rosa

– Four riders have led the race from start to finish: Costante Girardengo (1919), Alfredo Binda (1927), Eddy Merckx (1973) and Gianni Bugno (1990)

– Two cyclists have lost the race on the last day: Laurent Fignon (1984) and Joaquim Rodriguez (2012)

– 14 riders who have won the overall without taking a stage win

– Longest ever stage took place in 1914 (Lucca-Rome, 430 km), and was won by Costante Girardengo

– Shortest one was won by Roger Swerts – 20 kilometers starting and finishing in Forte dei Marmi – in 1972

– The longest ever individual time trial came at the 1951 edition – 81 kilometers between Perugia and Terni – and was won by Fausto Coppi

– Switzerland was the first foreign country to be visited by the peloton, in 1920

– In 1921, the race began to be filmed in order to be screened in cinemas – 1928 was the year with the most cyclists at the start: 298

– Alfredo Binda holds the record for the most consecutive stage wins, 8 in 1929, and for the most stage wins at one edition, 12 in 1927

– Another Italian, Mario Cipollini, has the most stage victories in the history of the Giro: 42

– The mountains classification was introduced in 1933, same year that an individual time trial was held

– First edition to feature the Dolomites was the 1937 one; same year, the team time trial was introduced

– The closest winning margin in Giro history was recorded in 1948, when only 11 seconds separated Fiorenzo Magni from Ezio Cecchi

– The 1914 edition witnessed the largest winning margin: 1:57:26  between Alfonso Calzolari and Pierino Albini

2017 stats

– 22 teams (18 World Tour, 4 Pro Continental) will line-up for the 100th edition of the Corsa Rosa

– Of these, only Gazprom-RusVelo is winless this season

– The race starts in Alghero and finishes in Milan, after 3572,2 kilometers

– For the first time in four years, the Giro d’Italia will kick off with a road stage

– Two former winners are at the start: Vincenzo Nibali and Nairo Quintana

– Bardiani-CSF and Gazprom-RusVelo are the teams fielding riders only from the country they are registered in

– 32 countries will be represented in the peloton, with Italy having the most cyclists, 45

– Italy’s Vincenzo Albanese (20 years) is the youngest cyclist at the start, while Angel Vicioso (40 years) is the oldest one

– Paolo Tiralongo is the rider with the most participations in the Corsa Rosa, 11, not including the one of this year

– Bardiani-CSF’s line-up has an average age of 25 years, making it the youngest in the race; the oldest squad is Bahrain-Merida (32 years)

– The riders who are at the start have won a combined total of 6 Grand Tours, 2 Monuments, and more than 100 Grand Tour stages

– Five neo-pros will make their Grand Tour debut at the Giro d’Italia: Vincenzo Albanese, Zhandos Bizhigitov, Ryan Gibbons, Edward Ravasi and Michal Schlegel

Navigare în articole