Cafe Roubaix

Despre ciclismul de azi şi cel de altădată

2015 World Championships – Road Race Stats

Richmond RR

Historical stats

– Alfredo Binda, Rik Van Steenbergen, Eddy Merckx and Oscar Freire are the riders with the most victories, three

– Rik Van Steenbergen holds the record for the largest time span between the first and the last win: 8 years

– Belgium leads in the nations standings, with 26 victories

– Karel Kaers is the youngest ever winner (20 years in 1934), while Joop Zoetemelk is the oldest one (38 years in 1985)

– Copenhagen has hosted the event five times, a record for the World Championships

– Italy is the country which held the most editions, 12

– Up until this point, 15 countries have had at least one world champion: Australia, Belgium, France, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, U.S.A.

– Only six countries from outside of Europe have hosted the event: Australia, Canada, Colombia, Japan, U.S.A. and Venezuela

– Cadel Evans is the sole rider from the southern emisphere to take the victory (2009)

– Five cyclists have successfully defended their title: Georges Ronsse, Rik Van Steenbergen, Rik van Looy, Gianni Bugno and Paolo Bettini

– Alejandro Valverde has the most medals, six: two silver and four bronze ones

– In 1931, there wasn’t a road race, but a 172 km-long individual time trial won by Italy’s Learco Guerra

– Biggest ever winning margin was recorded at the 1928 edition, in Budapest, when Georges Ronsse came home 19:43 ahead of Herbert Nebe

– Longest edition (297,5 kilometers) took place in Copenhagen, in 1937, and was won by Eloi Meulenberg; Denmark’s capital played host also to the shortest one, in 1931 (172 kilometers)

– On 12 occasions, the world title was won by a rider of the host nation

– No U23 world champion has ever managed to take the title in the elite race

2015 stats

– The World Championships are hosted by the US for the second time in history, 29 years after Moreno Argentin’s triumph

– The course is 261,4 kilometers-long and has an elevation gain of more than 1600 meters

– Each of the 16 laps includes three climbs: Libby Hill (215 meters, 8% average, 9% maximum), 23rd Street (185 meters, 12% average, 13% maximum) and Governor Street (295 meters, 7% average, 8% maximum)

– 190 riders representing 44 countries will be at the start line in Richmond

– Tom Boonen, Philippe Gilbert, Rui Costa and Michal Kwiatkowski are the former winners of the rainbow jersey who will line-up for the race

– Etixx-Quick Step is the trade team with the most riders in the event: 13

– Tiesj Benoot (21 years) is the youngest cyclist in the race, while Gonzalo Garrido (42 years) is the oldest one

Single Post Navigation

Lasă un răspuns

Completează mai jos detaliile cerute sau dă clic pe un icon pentru a te autentifica:


Comentezi folosind contul tău Dezautentificare /  Schimbă )

Fotografie Facebook

Comentezi folosind contul tău Facebook. Dezautentificare /  Schimbă )

Conectare la %s

%d blogeri au apreciat: